Jump to content

- - - - -

2009 with LC4

2009 lc4

  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#1 hkgroggy Posted 05 March 2012 - 05:21 PM

hkgroggy
  • Members
  • R32 Member

  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA
Hello all, I recently picked up a 2009 with 5k miles and loving every minute of it. I'm thinking when I get my car serviced for it's 6k, I'll have Nissan flash to LC4. Can you 09 owners speak to that change? Was it pretty significant on noise and overall smoothness of shifting? Does Nissan charge for doing this flash? If so, what's the damage? Appreciate this forum quite a bit, lot of knowledgeable cool people here.



#2 MC Posted 05 March 2012 - 05:23 PM

MC
  • Administrator
  • NAGTROC CO-FOUNDER

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,513 posts
  • Location:NC
nissan will not   flash your car  to the  actual   LC4...if your car still has LC1 for some reason  it can be flashed to LC2 but thats  it

as close as you can get is  something  aftermarket  like the   cobb  LC4 beta  version


2015 GT-R NISMO #1 built for the USA
MCGTRNISMO Youtube
@MCGTRNISMO

#3 JoeGr Posted 05 March 2012 - 05:23 PM

JoeGr
  • Members
  • COBB Tuning Firmware Engineer (Hacker)

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,615 posts
  • Location:Salt Lake City
As far as I am aware Nissan can't flash LC4 to your TCM. You'll need to use the AccessPORT to do that.

Joe


COBB Tuning Firmware Engineer (Hacker)

MBA Class of 2012

#4 GTRcHaRgEr Posted 05 March 2012 - 06:25 PM

GTRcHaRgEr
  • NAGTROC Certified Member
  • LiMiTLeSs

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,046 posts
To me it was a night and day difference going to LC4. However, I have a custom tuned LC4 with the cobb 006.


09 Black Premium DBA Conversion ..... ALPHA 12 Powered TSM Tuned.....

#5 hkgroggy Posted 06 March 2012 - 01:03 AM

hkgroggy
  • Members
  • R32 Member

  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA
Thanks guys, appreciate the responses.



#6 sjj31 Posted 06 March 2012 - 03:47 AM

sjj31
  • Members
  • R34 Member

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,504 posts
  • Location:Grand Rapids, MI 49341

View PostGTRcHaRgEr, on 05 March 2012 - 06:25 PM, said:

To me it was a night and day difference going to LC4. However, I have a custom tuned LC4 with the cobb 006.

When you say you have a custom tuned lc4 do you mean you have lc4 beta with a custom tune? I'm getting ready to convert on my 2010 but want to make sure I don't need to modify my custom tune to accomodate lc4.


2010 Nissan Super Silver GTR – New Build April, 2014 @ 32,000 Miles (After 3 years of Bolt-On Fun!)
Engine:
Jack’s Transmissions Engine Refresh (Forged Manley Rods & Pistons,Gaskets, Bearings, Seals etc.) + Heat Shielded Engine Bay

Turbo’s:GTC Stock Frame Spec V Turbos,Ported Upper/Lower Manifold,GTC 60mm Inlets,AMS 4Bar MAP Sensor
Tune:EcuTek – Ben Linney SD Flex Fuel Tune using Gotboost SD Kit and Visconti Flex Fuel Kit
Fuel/Injectors:Walbro 485 Pumps with AMS Hobbs Switch & Hardwired and Jack’s Seals,SIR 1150cc Injectors
Bolt-Ons:HKS Legamax Catback,HKS Non-Res Midpipe,GTC 90mm DP’s,Gotboost 3" Intakes w/Green Filters
Tranny:Built Stage 2+ - Billet Dodson Baskets A&B+PPG 1st Gear,Jack's 16 plate Clutch & Bell Housing Upgrade (drives like stock)

Cooling: ETS Intercooler/GotBoost IC Piping,SSP Tranny Cooler,Dodson Oil Thermo, AAM Oil Catch Can
Brakes: Alcon HD 396mm/JHook Rotors,Forged SS Lines,Hawk DTC 70/60 Pads,Upgraded OEM Painted Calipers (RB Stainless pistons/blue melt-proof seals/boots)
Fluids:Shell Rotella T 15w40 Engine (Jack's recommended), Castrol Diff, Jack’s Special Tranny Mix, Castrol SRF Brake
Wheels:Yokohama AVS F7 20x10+30,20x11+25,TSM Track Spacers (10/15mm),Toyo R888 285/35/20,315/30/20
Suspension:Full Penske 2 Way Coilovers with Eibach GTR Sway Bar Front and Rear, Corner Balanced, Track Aligned
Track:SFS Strut Bar,APR100-7718 Studs 12x1.5,Muteki Lugs,Sparco Harness Bar,Shroth 4PT,Difflow 5E Diffuser,Forged SW Lock
Look:DF CF Side Sills,Spats,ExShrouds,Rexpeed CF-M Splitter,OEM DRL's,SP LED Kit,GTMotoring Tow Hook
Extras:Hushmat Ultra (rear&trunk),Front Clear Bra,Full Tint,Clear JDM markers,Escort 9500ci Custom,VBOX

#7 Visconti Posted 06 March 2012 - 08:03 AM

Visconti
  • Vendors
  • EcuTek Tuner

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,439 posts
  • Location:Norwalk, CT

View Posthkgroggy, on 05 March 2012 - 05:21 PM, said:

Hello all, I recently picked up a 2009 with 5k miles and loving every minute of it. I'm thinking when I get my car serviced for it's 6k, I'll have Nissan flash to LC4. Can you 09 owners speak to that change? Was it pretty significant on noise and overall smoothness of shifting? Does Nissan charge for doing this flash? If so, what's the damage? Appreciate this forum quite a bit, lot of knowledgeable cool people here.

Someone tell me the dealer would do it but for $1200

Then someone else told me that the dealer refused to do it.

Personally I dont think their equipment can flash the LC4 on to the old cars.

You have two options, purchase a Cobb Accessport and run alpha firmware or go with a EcuTek TCM Flash.

Both products can give you the LC4 you want.

-John

Edited by John@TheShopCT, 06 March 2012 - 08:04 AM.




#8 JoeGr Posted 06 March 2012 - 08:49 AM

JoeGr
  • Members
  • COBB Tuning Firmware Engineer (Hacker)

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,615 posts
  • Location:Salt Lake City

View Postsjj31, on 06 March 2012 - 03:47 AM, said:

When you say you have a custom tuned lc4 do you mean you have lc4 beta with a custom tune? I'm getting ready to convert on my 2010 but want to make sure I don't need to modify my custom tune to accomodate lc4.

The LC4 has to be modified to launch correctly on the older GT-R. LC4 and LC5 expect a few signals that the older LCs don't and we have to modify the logic in the TCM to ignore them. It's not really a custom tune, but a modified version of LC4.

There is no way for a Nissan Tech to do these modifications, so even if they can flash LC4 to your LC1-LC3 equipped GT-R the launch would never work.

Joe


COBB Tuning Firmware Engineer (Hacker)

MBA Class of 2012

#9 SP-GTR Posted 06 March 2012 - 12:33 PM

SP-GTR
  • NAGTROC Certified Member
  • R32 Member

  • PipPip
  • 243 posts
Im in the same boat, I was thinking about running the beta LC4 from cobb on my 09 but will it work alright with my setup?


2013 R35 Black Edition GT-R (AMS Alpha RoNin)
2013 Bentley GT-Speed
2010 Corvette ZR1 (Lingenfelter Pulley Kit, Mild2Wild Exhaust Flap)
2012 Audi R8 V10 (AMS Tune)

#10 JoeGr Posted 06 March 2012 - 01:16 PM

JoeGr
  • Members
  • COBB Tuning Firmware Engineer (Hacker)

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,615 posts
  • Location:Salt Lake City

View PostSP-GTR, on 06 March 2012 - 12:33 PM, said:

Im in the same boat, I was thinking about running the beta LC4 from cobb on my 09 but will it work alright with my setup?
With our "KB51B Stock Style LC4 VDC off" map should work very nicely on your GT-R!

Joe


COBB Tuning Firmware Engineer (Hacker)

MBA Class of 2012

#11 SP-GTR Posted 06 March 2012 - 01:20 PM

SP-GTR
  • NAGTROC Certified Member
  • R32 Member

  • PipPip
  • 243 posts

View PostJoeGr, on 06 March 2012 - 01:16 PM, said:

With our "KB51B Stock Style LC4 VDC off" map should work very nicely on your GT-R!

Joe

Sounds good, looks like ill give it a shot tonight. :) lol


2013 R35 Black Edition GT-R (AMS Alpha RoNin)
2013 Bentley GT-Speed
2010 Corvette ZR1 (Lingenfelter Pulley Kit, Mild2Wild Exhaust Flap)
2012 Audi R8 V10 (AMS Tune)

#12 TeKiZeRo Posted 07 March 2012 - 11:39 PM

TeKiZeRo
  • Members
  • R32 Member

  • PipPip
  • 316 posts
  • Location:San Diego
Are there any downsides to putting LC4 on the '09 models?  Are there any major differences from flashing to LC4 with Cobb than having "factory" LC4 on the 2012+ models?


2014 Alpine White BMW M235i
2015 Pearl White GT-R

#13 Big Turkey Posted 08 March 2012 - 05:22 AM

Big Turkey
  • Members
  • R32 Member

  • PipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX

View PostTeKiZeRo, on 07 March 2012 - 11:39 PM, said:

Are there any downsides to putting LC4 on the '09 models?  Are there any major differences from flashing to LC4 with Cobb than having "factory" LC4 on the 2012+ models?

The biggest downside is that you just spin the tires all over the place if you're on factory rubber! On R mode it just bogs completely due to wheelspin.

I switched back to LC2 3750rpm but my car still revs to 4000, but the driveability factor of LC4 is just amazing. I got it sort of close changing my settings to 1-1-2-6 and that first gear stumble is hardly noticeable but still there. The only thing is when the trans is cold it shifts kinda rough putting around the neighborhood.

Switching back to LC4 for my DD needs.


Facebook: Auto Adrenaline Performance

#14 TeKiZeRo Posted 08 March 2012 - 06:09 AM

TeKiZeRo
  • Members
  • R32 Member

  • PipPip
  • 316 posts
  • Location:San Diego
Thanks for the reply!  I am just looking to smooth the tranny out for putting around the city.  The starts from a stop a pretty rough and the shifts from 1-3 is are not as smooth as I'd like it to be.  It's not a big issue, but since there's a way to make it better, I'd like to have it.


2014 Alpine White BMW M235i
2015 Pearl White GT-R

#15 SP-GTR Posted 08 March 2012 - 03:40 PM

SP-GTR
  • NAGTROC Certified Member
  • R32 Member

  • PipPip
  • 243 posts
Just checked "Check Search Beta Firmware" in the AP Manager and it installed v1.6.5.0-2897..... Is this the correct version for the LC4 w/ "KB51B Stock Style LC4 VDC off"??


2013 R35 Black Edition GT-R (AMS Alpha RoNin)
2013 Bentley GT-Speed
2010 Corvette ZR1 (Lingenfelter Pulley Kit, Mild2Wild Exhaust Flap)
2012 Audi R8 V10 (AMS Tune)

#16 SP-GTR Posted 08 March 2012 - 03:50 PM

SP-GTR
  • NAGTROC Certified Member
  • R32 Member

  • PipPip
  • 243 posts
Just found AP Manager 2.0.2.0.... Assuming that should fix my problem. Still not finding any different firmware?

Edited by SP-GTR, 08 March 2012 - 03:52 PM.



2013 R35 Black Edition GT-R (AMS Alpha RoNin)
2013 Bentley GT-Speed
2010 Corvette ZR1 (Lingenfelter Pulley Kit, Mild2Wild Exhaust Flap)
2012 Audi R8 V10 (AMS Tune)

#17 JoeGr Posted 08 March 2012 - 03:52 PM

JoeGr
  • Members
  • COBB Tuning Firmware Engineer (Hacker)

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,615 posts
  • Location:Salt Lake City

View PostSP-GTR, on 08 March 2012 - 03:40 PM, said:

Just checked "Check Search Beta Firmware" in the AP Manager and it installed v1.6.5.0-2897..... Is this the correct version for the LC4 w/ "KB51B Stock Style LC4 VDC off"??
That is the correct map, but the firmware version is not correct. that is the release firmware you need the ALPHA. To get the alpha you have to follow the instructions that are here in this post.

Joe


COBB Tuning Firmware Engineer (Hacker)

MBA Class of 2012

#18 Church Posted 08 March 2012 - 04:04 PM

Church
  • NAGTROC Certified Member
  • Sophisticated

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,158 posts

View PostBig Turkey, on 08 March 2012 - 05:22 AM, said:

The biggest downside is that you just spin the tires all over the place if you're on factory rubber! On R mode it just bogs completely due to wheelspin.

I and MANY others disagree with this. Stock run flats can put the power down just fine with an LC4 and LC5 launch. You WILL NOT spin your tires like crazy at all.

Turkey either has BIG power or he lives in a VERY cold climate.(or his tires are bald.)

LC4 will give you sub 3 second 0-60 times with stock runflats and minimal wheel spin all the way up to about 530awhp and 550wtq.



#19 SP-GTR Posted 08 March 2012 - 05:47 PM

SP-GTR
  • NAGTROC Certified Member
  • R32 Member

  • PipPip
  • 243 posts
I screwed up. Didn't realize I needed to uninstall the cobb from my car..... I updated everything already and am on AP Manager 2.0.1.5 and Firmware v1.6.5.1-3617. What the heck do I do now? lol


2013 R35 Black Edition GT-R (AMS Alpha RoNin)
2013 Bentley GT-Speed
2010 Corvette ZR1 (Lingenfelter Pulley Kit, Mild2Wild Exhaust Flap)
2012 Audi R8 V10 (AMS Tune)

#20 Church Posted 08 March 2012 - 05:56 PM

Church
  • NAGTROC Certified Member
  • Sophisticated

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,158 posts

View PostSP-GTR, on 08 March 2012 - 05:47 PM, said:

I screwed up. Didn't realize I needed to uninstall the cobb from my car..... I updated everything already and am on AP Manager 2.0.1.5 and Firmware v1.6.5.1-3617. What the heck do I do now? lol

Just hook it up to the car and unistall. No different than with the old software.....  I'm surprised you didn't try that before you wrote this post.....    ;)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users