Photo
- - - - -

New Owner 2017 Alpha7 (Southern Wisconsin)

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 UnCitizen

UnCitizen

GTRLIFE Newbie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 06 June 2021 - 11:50 AM

Hi,

Just purchased a 2017 with Alpha7 (with E85) package installed/tuned by AMS. 21k miles, Immaculate car and a joy to drive. It's been a dream of mine for many years and I finally was able to find one that checked all the boxes (was gonna do these exact mods anyway). Many, many years ago I had a 97 MKIV and miss that car lol.

Have a couple of questions. I'm new to the Cobb AP and the map loaded is clearly labeled Alpha7 and has correct parts listed. However I do not have any maps available via the CC buttons, like lower boost, valet etc. (boost gauge does change to select, but only has one step). Anything I may be missing? Second, what sort of boost spike can I expect? (I'm seeing 19ish currently I hope that's ok). Lastly, the car does have swift springs. Is there any concern with the stock suspension dampeners?

I'm sure I will have more but for now I'm thinking I will take it to AMS for a once over. I have all of the original paperwork from them.

Thanks!

Nick

#2 Gdzilla_

Gdzilla_

Marketplace Moderator

• Site Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5431 posts

Posted 06 June 2021 - 04:29 PM

Congrats on the car... and many miles of happy motoring...

If there are no other maps listed in the AccessPort itself, to choose from, then you won’t have any available via the cc buttons.

Since you are contemplating AMS for a once over inspection, they can provide additional optional maps.

If you decide not to go there, any reputable tuner can also provide additional maps via an eTune or physically put your car on a dyno. 

You would need to download the AccessPort Manager program on your computer first to be able to load up future maps.

One can acquire this AP Manager program right from the COBB website, free to download.