9,468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
was thinking of doing something with developing

but cant decide if its worth going to school or learning online

would love to take some advice from experienced ones

·
SF Bay Area Member
548 Posts
Getting to be a pretty crowded space. I have a friend who runs a very successful iOS and Android app dev shop and he says that business is slowing down. He built the FedEx, Walmart and many other apps.

·
R36 Member
796 Posts
I have been coding for about 12 years now... This is going to be long, but hopefully not too long.

If you want to start out coding, it's very important to have a good mentor. Although you can learn a lot from reading a book or taking classes, you should always have someone review the code that you wrote. For example, if I were someone wanting to learn how to code, I start out developing on my own and submit my applications, you will run into bugs or issues and will have no-one to review your code, which is very important. Not only is it important for bugs, but even more so, it's important to learn how to code efficiently. You may write 35000 lines of code and think your program is badass because it works! However, the guy next to you wrote the same thing in 300 lines -- quite a difference when it may take you time and effort to debug so many lines.

The second thing that you will want to do, is start out on the easy stuff that makes sense. For every programmer, this is very different -- but I always recommend java as a starter. It's multi-platform and makes more sense when you create logic. Stanford is great and offers free online classes for you to review: http://see.stanford.edu/see/courses.aspx

The third, and more obvious, you must practice quite often. This will help you down the line when you are caught in situations that require a lot of time and effort to diagnose.

-------

I'm currently writing a book on coding! Hopefully it will be worth reading someday...

Good luck!

·
Premium Member
9,468 Posts