Nissan GT-R Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've developed an odd problem. On coming out of parking lots with any sort of decline onto road going surface, making right turn, it seems that car does not want to engage in gear immediately. Would not be so bad, but it always happens when I have oncoming traffice. Just today happened again, this time saw the traction control light come one flash on/off. Very strange...Has anyone ever had such an experience...

Called dealer, they think wheel may lose contact with ground, but I would feel that, and these declines are not that steep...

·
Registered
1,570 Posts
Happens all the time with me when I leave too quickly. Slow exit and no problems. Try turning off VDC when leaving the parking lot.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
VDC off, loss of warranty or at least makes dealership question activities?? I'm new to GTR world having just bought mine amonth in a half ago, so still learning the ropes...

·
Registered
1,570 Posts
They shouldn't void your warranty just from turning off VDC. They can see when you turn it off as well as how you're driving it i.e. throttle position and steering input. I'd just turn it back on once you pull out of the parking lot and are driving straight.

·
Registered
990 Posts
The outside rear wheel might momentarily lose traction. The stiff suspension helps keep your car from rolling like a boat, but at the same time the tires might be more likely to lose contact in low speed decline turns like that. Borrow your kid's hot wheels to see for yourself or have someone take video footage of you driving down that decline.

You could also try comfort mode to see if the longer suspension travel helps keep the tire in contact with the ground. If you can, avoid applying power at the moment where the tire may lose contact; instead, just let it roll until it flattens out.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·