Nissan GT-R Forum banner
1 - 20 of 911 Posts

·
Registered
2,231 Posts
I purchased my 2009 GTR Premium (~5,600 miles) 3 weeks ago from a buddy of mine and have been accumulating parts for my build. The car came with a Cobb catless midpipe and Cobb V2 Accessport. I have been fabricating and tuning for ~16 years and do most of my work in the garage. You can check out the links in my signature documenting my EVO IX build and results.

The goal of my build is to make 580+whp for under $3K so I will be providing pricing information and detailed pictures for each step. Below is my mod list and build plan:

Phase I
- DIY 3" intake with high flow filters ($170)
- DIY 3.5" exhaust (from Cobb midpipe to stock exhaust where it splits into two) ($186)
- Cobb AccessTUNER Race ($695)
- Baseline tune - ME TUNED
- ID1000cc injectors ($375 shipped - used 2400 miles)
- Denso 265lph pumps ($300 shipped)
- Baseline dyno run on Dynojet

Phase II
- Curt Brown Ported 2013 turbo inlets ($450)
- Curt Brown Ported intake manifold ($500)
- Tune - ME TUNED
- Dyno run on Dynojet (before/after results with Curt Brown ported components)

Phase III
- DIY front mount intercooler
- DIY intercooler piping
- Tune - ME TUNED
- Dyno run on Dynojet (final results)

So I started the build today with the DIY 3" intake with the components as follows:
- two 3" 30deg mandrel bent aluminum tubes (purchased from CX Racing Ebay store for $60 shipped)
- two 45deg silicone transition tubes 60mm to 76mm (purchased from best.racing-building Ebay store for $29 shipped)
- two used K&N RU-5111 filtes from forum member ($30 shipped, used for mockup and determining custom filter size)
- two aluminum MAF flanges from GM# 19166574 ($26 from GM)
TOTAL COST: $170 (assuming new RU-5111 filters - $55)

The quality of the tubes from CX Racing are top notch and come polished.