Nissan GT-R Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
Well, I finished my H&R spring install over the weekend. Honestly it wasn't that bad. Took me a solid 7 hours. About 3 hours in the back including interior removal and around 4 hours up front. The instructions below are pretty basic/vague, so I thought I'd share some additional stuff that I felt was left out. Hopefully it will be of use!

* Disclaimer: I am not a certified mechanic. I'm just an average guy that likes to get stuff done on his own and learn at the same time. Some shops are charging almost $1,000 to do this install. So man up, and get'r done!

Here are the install guides I used:

1. http://www.vividracing.com/blog/tuning-corner/kw-suspension-sleeve-kit-full-installation-on-nissan-gtr/

2. http://www.speedforsale.com/staff/files/SuspensionSpringsGTR.pdf

Here are almost all of the tools required/tools that I used:

1. Sockets: 12mm, 14mm, 17mm, 21mm (For OEM lug nuts) + swivel socket and 2" extension for rear top hat 12mm nuts, and 1 1/4 or 32mm iirc socket for axle nut if you choose to remove it
2. Wrenches: 14mm, 17mm
3. Flat head screw driver (or other tool for removing push clips) + Philips screw driver
4. Breaker bar
5. Torque wrench
6. Reverse logic lug guides and jack pads
7. Impact gun
8. Custom tool to get the shock cable through the boot/top hat (I used a wire, with a piece of string and tied the string to the cable and fed it through)
9. Blue tape to protect paint
10. Spring compressors
11. Vice grips and pliers for random tasks
12. Rope
13. Magnet for when you drop the 12mm top hat nut past the engine onto the under tray ha

So after reading through speedforsale and vivids, here's what I felt was missing: