Nissan GT-R Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wanted to give a heads up to anyone looking at these to replace the OEM skirts. I purchased them from Evasive Motorsports and they arrived in about 2 weeks from California (to Maryland). Finish of the product is great, they look super clean and the weave is consistent. For reference, I have the N-Tune CF front splitter and it fits well and looks great, so I wanted skirts to match. Well, the fitment on the skirts sucks a big one.

Let me preface the rest of my post with something - I'm not a car noob. I've been working on cars since I was 18, and while I'm certainly not a mechanic by trade, I've done just about everything you can do on your car short of rebuilding an engine. I also am fairly good at machine work and fabrication.

First of all, they do not come pre drilled. I understand some products are like this, however for a piece of body molding that needs precise placement of clips and screws, this feels like a recipe for disaster. I did my best to drill the screw holes and cut the slots for the body clips to slide in to. Working with thin carbon fiber is a nightmare, be prepared to mask up and wear goggles as you don't want CF dust anywhere near your eyes or lungs. The CF in some areas where I had to cut was too thick to allow for me to slide in the clips, so not only did I have to drill and cut, I also had to shave down parts of the lip. This means shaving down 2mm of carbon fiber to 1mm of carbon fiber at the point where it needs to be structurally sound enough to support the tension of a retaining clip. Needless to say I broken the carbon fiber in one spot where I was attempting to do this. The other spots seemed...OK I guess.