Nissan GT-R Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have heard and read all about how people upgrade their GTRs and end up with transmission failures....as I am new to GTR coming from EVO....Should I be worried about my 07 R35s transmission even as stock????

·
Premium Member
12,530 Posts
By design there are certain parts of the GT-R transmission that WILL fail. It's just a matter of time. There doesn't seem to be any exact formula seperating those who have seen early failures to those who have seen no failures to date. As heacuva mentioned there are a number of cheaper upgrades that will prevent 90% of the potential common failures. The other 10% can be fixed as well, just come at a higher price tag.

·
Registered
370 Posts
From what I gather the OEM circlips are the first thing to go and don't cost much to replace with aftermarket parts. Either way its cheaper than a new transmission. If you are looking to upgrade to some serious power I'd consider looking into doing something for your differential as well as there have recently been stories of cracked rear diff's VegasGTR seems to be the most experienced in transmission problems so far.

·
Registered
224 Posts
Wow another nice informative thread you guys have here. Should i still worry about these on the 2012? Or did Nissan take care of the problems already?

·
Registered
224 Posts
Do we still see these problems on bone stock cars? Or maybe lets say a mid pipe but stock tune? Cars that have never been launched? I sound so paranoid, sorry...

·
GTR Nerd
5,335 Posts
Do we still see these problems on bone stock cars? Or maybe lets say a mid pipe but stock tune? Cars that have never been launched? I sound so paranoid, sorry...